Excellence in Leadership 2022

The Peter and Eunice Beveridge Award for Outstanding Leadership in Languages


The Excellence in Leadership award recognises leadership in languages teaching and learning in a primary, secondary or tertiary institution in New Zealand. The award will be judged on the nominee’s contribution to the languages community. It will recognise work that is deemed by the Executive to be noteworthy in the field of leadership in languages learning.

The Excellence in Leadership Award consists of a citation and a trophy and is open to all members of NZALT. Nominees must have been a member for at least five years. The recipient will be announced and presented at the forthcoming NZALT conference.


Nominations for the NZALT awards are called for in each conference year.


Initial Expressions of Interest ​(150 words) for ​2022 close on: Friday 27 May 2022. ​​

Invited full applications for 2022 close on Friday 17 June 2022.


How to apply

Expression of Interest (EoI)

If you would like to nominate someone for this award, please e-mail secretary@nzalt.org.nz by Friday 27 May 2022, stating your name, the name of the nominee, the institution where the nominee works, and a brief statement (up to 150 words maximum) supporting why you wish to nominate this person. EoIs will be discussed by the Executive.  If successful, full applications will be invited.

Full application

written statement (two pages maximum) from two NZALT members making the nomination outlining why the nominee is considered worthy of the Excellence in Leadership award.  The application may also include other letters of support.

A one-two page CV of the nominee, highlighting service and achievements that support the nomination.

Nominees must have been a member of NZALT for at least five years.

The Secretary will email those who have been invited to submit a full application. A digital copy of the full application must be emailed by 5.00p.m., Friday 17 June 2022, to secretary@nzalt.org.nz

An award committee comprised of the President of NZALT and two other members of the NZALT Executive will consider the full nominations and decide on recipients of the awards. The judges have the right not to make an award, and their decision is final.

Past Awardees

2021: Michelle Lodge 

2018: David Hall 

2016: Adèle Scott 

2014: Judith Geare 

2012: Jo Guthrie and Jeanne Gilbert (inaugural award winners)