Excellence in Teaching Languages 2024

NZALT is proud to offer an award for excellence in teaching languages.


This award recognises the work of a member in the field of languages teaching in either the primary, secondary or tertiary sector. The Excellence in Teaching Languages Award consists of a citation and certificate, and is open to all members of NZALT. Nominees must have been a member for at least five years. The recipient will be announced and presented at the forthcoming NZALT conference.


Nominations for the NZALT awards are called for in each conference year.

Invited full applications for 2024 close on Sunday, 31st March 2024.


If you would like to find out more about this award please contact Juliet Kennedy

How to apply

A written statement (two pages maximum) from two NZALT members making the nomination outlining why the nominee is considered worthy of the Excellence in Teaching award.  The application may also include other letters of support.

A one-two page CV of the nominee, highlighting teaching achievements that support the nomination.

Nominees must have been a member of NZALT for at least five years.

A digital copy of the full application must be emailed by 5.00p.m., Sunday, 31st March 2024, to our Secretary Jo Hawes 

An award committee comprised of the President of NZALT and two other members of the NZALT Executive will consider the full nominations and decide on recipients of the awards. The judges have the right not to make an award, and their decision is final.

Past Awardees

2021: Ying Li

2020: Felicity Walker 

2018: Anne Jacques, Priscilla Pollard 

2016: Michelle Lodge 

2014: Jenny Field